Posted on: April 29, 2021 Posted by: Harold Jones Comments: 0

Cisco certification is one of the most sought-after and globally recognised credentials in the IT domain offered by Cisco. A market leader in networking and IT worldwide, Cisco provides outstanding routing and switching products, ranging from data and voice to video traffic worldwide.

Cisco certifications intended for IT professionals ensure that they possess enough knowledge and skills to solve customers’ technology queries and support Cisco products and services.

Cisco certifications include the below credentials:

  • Cisco Certified Technician
  • Cisco Certified Entry Network Technician
  • Cisco Certified Design Associate
  • Cisco Certified Network Associate
  • Cisco Certified Design Professional
  • Cisco Certified Network Professional
  • Cisco Certified Design Expert
  • Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert
  • Cisco Certified Architect

 9 Changes To Cisco Certifications


 1. Integrating Associate-Level Certifications And Training

Previously, Cisco Certified Network Associate included eight different specialisations – CCNA Routing and Switching, CCNA Industrial, CCNA Service Provider, CCNA Wireless, CCNA CyberOps, CCNA Collaboration, CCNA Cloud, and Security.

These elements and their skills are covered in a single CCNA exam in the updated and integrated track. This exam includes fundamental networking skills, like IP connectivity, security, IP fundamentals, automation, network access, and network programmability.

2. DevNet Track

The new certificate introduced in Cisco’s certification path is DevNet. The DevNet certification track primarily concentrates on application development in Cisco platforms, automation, coding, and network fundamentals.

It is an associate-level certification covering concepts like software development and design, infrastructure and automation, APIs, network fundamentals, and application deployment and security.

3. Concentration Exams In DevNet

The DevNet certification requires professionals to appear for one core exam and one concentration exam. Professionals can select the concentration exam depending upon their DevNet technology track. The different options include security, automation across the enterprise, collaboration, data centre, and service provider. Moreover, it also covers topics like WebEx, IoT, and DevOps.

4. Concentration Exams In CCNP

The Cisco Certified Network Professional certification also involves two exams – one core and one concentration exam. Professionals can pick one core exam out of five technologies – CCNP Enterprise, CCNP Service Provider, CCNP Security, CCNP Collaboration, and CCNP Data Centre.

Moreover, the concentration exam also includes the same five technological tracks. Professionals have to choose one out of the five tracks for the concentration exam.

5. One Core And One Lab Exam For CCIE

Professionals desiring to pursue the Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert certification have to appear for one core exam and one lab exam. Like the professional-level certification, the expert-level credential also includes five technology tracks – CCIE Security, CCIE Service Provider, CCIE Enterprise, CCIE Data Centre, and CCIE Collaboration.

Individuals have to select the same track out of five for the core and lab exam. They have to clear the core exam to appear for the lab exam.

6. No CCNA Certification Prerequisite

Individuals wishing to start their careers in networking can begin with any level of Cisco’s certification- associate, professional, or expert. As CCNA is an entry-level credential, it does not act as a prerequisite to earning advanced levels of certification.

7. DevNet Expert-Level Certification

Another change that Cisco may introduce soon is including the DevNet Expert-level certification in their program.

8. Concentration Exams For Specialist Certification

Cisco’s specialist certification helps professionals boost their knowledge in core networking technologies – video, data centre, or security.

Specialist certifications include five different technological tracks, the same as that of the professional and expert-level credentials – Enterprise, Security, Data Centre, Enterprise, and Collaboration.

     9. CCIE Lifetime Emeritus Benefit

A CCIE Emeritus that maintains CCIE Emeritus status for 20 years is offered with the option of selecting the Emeritus status for a lifetime with no fee.

All the above modifications to Cisco credentials are worthy. It has become easier for IT professionals to seek CCNA credential since all specialisations, CCNA Security, Collaboration, CyberOps, Industrial, Cloud, Wireless, Service Provider, and Routing and Switching, are now consolidated in a single exam.


To seek training for any Cisco credential, you can head towards the world’s prominent leader in the training industry, Koenig Solutions. It provides first-rate training from the entry-level Cisco certificate, CCNA course, to the expert level.

This leading coaching institute is equipped with expert instructors and Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) to help candidates achieve their dreams. Moreover, students can also pursue live online training. The CCNA certification cost and the cost for all other Cisco certifications charged by this training centre are affordable.